Meteor Shower Alert! (Friday Night and This Weekend)

Hi Tarts,

Everyone knows I love the night sky as much as I love nature, and so…

I’m sharing the skywatching love!

This is to let you know that there’s a meteor shower tonight and through the weekend.

It’s official name is the Delta Aquarid meteor shower.

The show starts in the wee hours tonight.

Try watching about  1 or 2 a.m.  The falling stars should be delighting us until sunrise.

If you miss tonight (late Friday), try again the same time Saturday night.  (1 or 2 a.m. through dawn on Sunday morning).  These times are the same for everyone, no matter where you are in the world.

Neat, huh?

This isn’t a super-charged meteor shower.  But it is known for shooting stars that leave long glowing tails.  So the Delta Aquarids do have something extra-special to offer.

Also good, there isn’t a particular corner of the heavens you need to watch.

You can see them anywhere.

According to the experts these meteors zing about willie-nillie, appearing everywhere in the night sky.  All you need is a patch of darkness, with as little light pollution as possible, and then sit back and watch the show.

I will certainly be out there.

Hope to see you, too!

**I’m leaving this up through Sunday morning so everyone has a chance to see it and catch the meteor shower.

**Later on Sunday, look for a special post about one of my very favorite characters, Catriona MacDonald.  

15 Comments

Filed under Nature, Uncategorized

15 responses to “Meteor Shower Alert! (Friday Night and This Weekend)

  1. leahluvsmedieval

    Thank you for the heads up. I will be watching also :)

  2. Lexi

    Perfect! We will be hanging out by a campfire tonight so I will keep an eye out =)

  3. librarypat

    Thanks. I’ll have to go out and check. The clouds have interfered with all the recent astronomical events lately.

  4. Thanks, Sue-Ellen, heavy cloud cover here.
    Working an evening shift tonight.

  5. Kathy Luehrs

    Well darn, I didn’t read this still Sat am – I will be out tonight looking skyward to see them – thanks for the “Heads Up” (:

  6. Mary Morgan

    Oh thank you, Sue-Ellen! I’ll be out looking tonight. :)

  7. Karen C

    We are in bed so early (because we are usually up so early and driving) that I missed this, but thank you for the heads up. Maybe I’ll catch the next one.

Leave a Reply

