July – Name That Moon

Kathy here….

Tarts, I got down to the waterfront before moonrise on July 3, the night of the full moon.  So as we watch the moon rise we will explore this month’s names.

Plymouth Harbor is a neat place to be if you are in the mood for people.  I spent nine or ten years working on the waterfront in the summer.  It is also a beautiful spot.  These pictures were taken from the parking lot for the building that was the old clam factory.  It was rehabbed into office space and a museum by Ocean Spray.  They eventually moved to new quarters and it is just office space in general.

The moonrise pictures were taken looking over the state boat ramp.  The hills that the moon is rising over are the Pine Hills.  I read somewhere that they are the highest point directly on the Atlantic coast between here and Brazil.

In the dead center of the first picture is a white pickup truck.  Right above the pickup just cresting the hills is the first sight of the moon.  Most of the pictures are going to be darker than it really was because I used the zoom on my camera and that’s how they came out.  The lighter pictures will be with the normal setting.

So without further ado, here is the July Full Moon….

As usual, the names are mostly divided between the animal kingdom and the plant kingdom.

Full moon rising without zoom

So let’s start with the animal kingdom.  The Cree have noticed that the Ducks Moult during this full moon.  The Hopi call it the Raptor Moon.   The soaring birds are taking advantage of the heat of the day and riding the thermal currents.  The cranes have made their migration north and the Choctaw are seeing them in the sky and on the waterways so to them it is the Crane Moon.There are two Nations that connect this moon with horses.  The Taos call it the Sun Horse Moon and the Apache call it simply the Horse Moon.The Arapaho and the Omaha call the July full moon the Buffalo Bellows Moon.

Now we will look at the plant kingdom.  The first will be the Sioux calling it the Wild Red Cherries Moon.  Chippewa call this moon the Raspberry Moon.

The Mohawk and the Passamaquoddy both call it the Ripening Moon.

The Cherokee call this moon the Ripe Corn Moon and the Potawatomi call it the Young Corn Moon.The Medieval English, English and Wicca traditions call the July moon the Mead Moon.  Another way of calling this moon and meaning the same is to call it the Hay Moon which the English do as well as.

Then some of Algonquin Nation use the Ripe Squash Moon for a name.  Squash was a very important crop to the Algonquin Nation.  It was one of the three sisters; squash, beans and corn.

Last in this section is the Rose Moon, so named by the Neo-Pagans.

Then there are a few names that are not in either of the above categories.  There is the Summer Moon so-called by the Colonial Americans and the Middle of Summer Moon given to us by the Dakota.  The Comanche call it the Hot Moon.

Knowing the Tarts as I do, I can’t leave out the Chinese as their name for the July moon is the Hungry Ghost Moon.  The Celtic tradition calls it the Moon of Claiming.  I also saw the Blessing Moon but no particular culture or belief tided to that name.

I have saved the most commonly known names for last this time.  The Algonquin Nations use both of these.  The first is the Full Buck Moon.  This is because the antlers are beginning to grow again and the bucks have these velvety fur bumps on their heads.  The other name is the Thunder Moon because this is the time of the most thunderstorms.

Taken down in the corner of the harbor by the marina.

So that is this month’s offerings.  The moon only took about fifteen minutes to rise from just peeping over the hills to this last picture taken over the marina.  I hope you enjoyed watching it come up.  I wanted something different for pictures this time.

23 Comments

Filed under Lore, Nature, Uncategorized

23 responses to “July – Name That Moon

  1. Mary Preston

    Name That Moon would be among my favorite posts. That last picture is stunning.

  2. librarypat

    We were on The Cape just prior to the full moon and enjoyed the moonrises. We were in Northern New York on Lake Champlain by the time of the full moon. It was spectacular. Beautiful rising over the Green and White Mountains. There were several nights of beautiful, huge, golden moonrises. Thanks for the pictures.

    • Oh, that sounds spectacular, Librarypat. I’d also love to see Lake Champlain one of these years. I’m fascinated by its monster. Champ? I know a Scot whose grandmother saw Nessie and so I’m curious about the Lake Champlain beastie, too.

      • Librarypat you were in my backyard and didn’t say hi! I’ll bet the moon was beautiful up in New York. That’s beautiful country up there. Sue-Ellen, you must get up there some time.

  3. Dalila G.

    Hi Kathy,

    As always an interesting and fun post about moons. :-)
    Thank you for taking the time to share with us!

  4. Great moon piece, Kathy. LOVE the pictures. I missed this month’s full moon because we’re having so many storms. The night sky is too clouded to see more than the moon’s glow behind the clouds.

    • I knew you would love the concept, Sue-Ellen, To bad I don’t have a really good camera and some training. Given how often you see the moon, knowing you, you did not mind the cloudy nights. That moon behind the clouds is sure to have fired your imagination.

  5. Mary Morgan

    Good Morning! :)
    Absolutely stunning photos, Kathy! You really captured her as she rose in the night sky. Your camera was perfect! I called this full moon the “Moon of Claiming–Celtic tradition.

    • Thanks Mary, it doesn’t surprise me that you use the Celtic name. I wish we could have all been there together. I did have a number of people stop and look to see what I was photographing. Most had the moon behind them so it was good to see they didn’t miss it.

  6. Can we say stressed, I didn’t even see that my name is wrong. I had typed it wrong a long time ago and every time I sign in on the comment section I get a choice and that misspelling is stuck there. If not careful the cursor lands on the wrong one. I have to find out how to delete that one.

  7. WOW! Beautiful pictures, Kathy!

    I like the Mead Moon and the Rose Moon. Your pictures show why Rose Moon is an apt name. Thank you for taking pictures of it coming up so we could share it through your eyes. By the time I can see it from my front porch, it’s already up. I keep saying that I’m going to get my nephew to climb Table Rock with me one afternoon and watch the sun set and the moon rise from there. He has all the head lamps and stuff to get us back down safely.

    Great post! :)

  8. Kathy Luehrs

    Since my birthday is July 5th I like to call it the Birthday Moon – love all the moon facts, Thanks Kathy

  9. Karen C

    I love the post and pictures (you are getting sooo good at this!). I don’t have a favorite name this month, though – maybe the Rose Moon…… Nicely done, as usual!

Leave a Reply

