A Special Message From Em

Woof, Tarts!

Hey, you really didn’t expect me to say ‘Hi,’ did you?

But I got the ‘Tart’ bit right, so we’re good.

I was told that was important.

And I like making my mommy happy.  All dogs like that, you know.  Our people are everything to us and we love them sooo much.

‘Course, other things matter to us, too.

That’s why I chose the above picture.

It’s me in younger years.  Hey, lots of us are a bit vain about our looks, eh?  Besides, I know my mommy posts current pictures of me in here all the time, so it’s not like I’m trying to hide my age behind an old photo.

I just like that one.

And I wanted you to see that I have a good life.  Hey!  How many dogs get to sit between their mommy’s book cushions?  That’s pretty neat, if you ask me.

I’m proud that she’s a Book Writer.

Even if I have to give her the cold shoulder now and then and look pointedly out her office window, letting her know it’s time for me to take her for a walk..

Works like a charm, that trick.

‘Course, she’s a pushover for animals.  Mainly for ME.  I have her wrapped around my little paw, I do.

But I love her truly and worry about her sometimes.

That’s why I’m taking over the tea room today.

She’s had a rough few days trying to get her computer (did I spell that right?) to come back to life.  It was dead, you see.  She said she told you?  Well, it was an awful mess.  And she’s not a techy person, so fiddling with it made her sweat.  (don’t tell her I said that)    

She didn’t curse, though.  My mommy doesn’t like bad words.

But she sure did look unhappy.

This morning, she’s smiling again.  Don’t ask me what she did, but her computer seems to be okay now.

I think she’s still going to buy a new one.  But she’s too busy writing books to mess with that right now.  ‘Least, that’s what I think she said.

All I care about is that she’s happy again.

That means no more fussing with things called Microsoft Windows Remote Support and more time for me to get walks and rest in the grass..

And see…

That’s a recent picture of me.  In all my aged glory.  I think I’m still a handsome boy.  Everyone tells me so, anyway.

And now that you know my mommy is up and running again,  (her term, not mine),  I better tell you that she’s very busy this weekend.

She’s doing something she calls ‘catching up.’  The look on her face as she sits at her desk, staring at the computer screen, tells me she’s catching up on work.

She really works a lot.

So I am going to use this tea room space for a special message of my own.

A lot of my friends don’t get to pose with book cushions or sit on tartan window seats.  Heck, they rarely even get to roll in the grass.

But they -are- very ready to make someone happy.  Just like I make my mommy happy every day.

So I’m letting one of my pals tell you his story, in his own words…

I rescued a human today.
Her eyes met mine as she walked down the corridor peering  apprehensively into the kennels. I felt her need instantly and knew  I had to help her. I wagged my tail, not too exuberantly, so she  wouldn’t be afraid.
As she stopped at my kennel I blocked her view  from a little accident I had in the back of my cage. I didn’t want  her to know that I hadn’t been walked today. Sometimes the shelter  keepers get too busy and I didn’t want her to think poorly of them.
As she read my kennel card I hoped that she wouldn’t feel sad about  my past. I only have the future to look forward to and want to make  a difference in someone’s life. She got down on her knees and made
little kissy sounds at me. I shoved my shoulder and side of my head  up against the bars to comfort her.
Gentle fingertips caressed my neck; she was desperate for companionship. A tear fell down her cheek and I raised my paw to assure her that all would be well.  Soon my kennel door opened and her smile was so bright that I instantly jumped into her arms. I would promise to keep her safe. I  would promise to always be by her side. I would promise to do everything I could to see that radiant smile and sparkle in her eyes. I was so fortunate that she came down my corridor. So many more are out there who haven’t walked the corridors. So many more to be saved. At least I could save one.
I rescued a human today.
***
My mommy says to tell you that she saw this the other day at Tart deirdrewindancer’s blog.  It really touched her.  Don’t tell her I said so, but she cried.
She rarely does that, so I know my friend’s message is powerful.
That’s why I’m sharing it today.
After all, I know my mommy dedicated June to helping cats.  So it’s equal air-time for canines today.
Now I better get out of here.  Someone I love very much needs George (the name she calls her keyboard) to write books.
And writing books is very important.  It pays for my kibble, after all.
Have a great weekend, Tarts.  And if you’re in need of being rescued…
I have lots of friends ready to help!

33 Comments

Filed under Dogs, Rescue Animals, Shelter Pets, Uncategorized

33 responses to “A Special Message From Em

  1. Lexi

    What a cute post =)

  2. KelleyF

    It is great to hear from Em. I think he should post more often!

    • Oh, don’t give him a big head now, Kelley. ;)

      Oops! Too late… he just read your comment. So he will be posting now and then. Not letting him do so will mean lots of long, pointed canine stares. He has ways of getting what he wants…

  3. Em

    Woof, Tarts!

    He he ha ha… I saw the first few posts and it’s so clear I am just as special as my mommy tells me. Dare I say it? I’m a STAR! So I will keep after my mommy to let me say hello to you again one of these days.

    For today, I’ll do my good doggy duty and tell you that my mommy is taking George away from me now. She needs to write books today.

    She’ll look in here again later tonight. Or I will… if I can get my paws on George.

    Till then, have fun in the tea room today. And bring your pets, you hear? Cats are welcome, too, much as I am not too wild about saying so. But go ahead and bring them, if you must. There’s kibble, treats, and toys for all. (even moggies)

    See you later. Woof, woof!

  4. Mary Morgan

    Good Morning! :)
    That was absolutely adorable! I laughed and cried, especially the story about “rescuing a human.” Precious! All they want is to give you love, right?

    I know I had my share of kisses this week from the little doggie, Roscoe, I was watching. Also, he did great on the 4th. I had him snuggled close to my side the entire evening, and not one peep. I was so relieved. He was also a great foot warmer when I was writing, too.

    Perhaps Em should make a monthly post? Give him a hug and kiss from me. :)

    • So glad you enjoyed my little guy’s visit to the tea room. Looks like he’ll have to come back. He loves attention so he’ll be ready.

      Roscoe sounds so sweet. Bless him for being so brave on the Fourth. What a special boy.

      The rescuing a human story really got to me. Deirdre (Windancer) has a few other stirring dog tales in the same post.
      (See link above)

  5. Yes, that little story about rescue is very special; glad to see it shared. Every dog I ever had was some kind of rescue. ANd yep, they ALL rescued me!! My sweet little Belle, like Em, is getting older and she has had a few rocky times lately but is doing better. And Em, you can post or chat with us any time! Belle would love that and I may let her star on my pages now and then! But right now she is taking a nap…we do that a lot and I sometimes join her ;-)

    • Your post was a thousand hanky one, Deirdre. I just had to share the saving a human tale in the tea room. Yes, they sure do rescue us. I know Belle is up there in years now, too. It’s terrible to see them age. Em remains very robust and pretty healthy. Author Barbara Samuel had a little dog live to 23 or 24! I hope our darlings last so long.

      Em will be in the tea room again. :)

  6. Marilyn Munro

    Here is a big hug for Em in thanks for the “save a human” story. It brought tears to my eyes and memories of my Mandy who was sixteen when she left me to go to doggie heaven. Some day I may be ready to be rescued again myself.

    • I gave him your hug, Marilyn. Told him your name. The ‘save a human’ story is c/o Tart Deirdre (Windancer).. I saw it on her site. (Link above) I know you miss dear Mandy so much. Let us all know if another dog rescues you.
      You know there is one out there.

  7. A very touching post. All my cats grudgingly admit Em is a real cutie!

  8. Well Done, EM!!! Aunty Kathy here. I’ll have to let Harvest post sometime soon. I miss her. Her mommy took her home early this morning and I haven’t seen them since. But she will be back tonight to sleep over.

    Em tell your mommy I’m glad she has her computer up and running. Yes, she has much to do so I will tiptoe around here quietly.

    Your friend’s story is very powerful. Thanks for sharing it.

    Now to make dinner and work. Then get my next post finished.

    Hugs to you Em and your Mommy.

    • Em

      Thank you so much. I tried hard. I wanted to make my mommy proud. She’s been telling me I did good, so I think I did.

      Harvest is special. I remember when she rescued you.

  9. Oh Em, I forgot to tell you your pictures are wonderful. Good to see them.

  10. Cathy P

    What a great post, Em! I laughed and cried. You are so right! We humans do need to be rescued. We have 3 girls (canines) that rescued us and we thank God for them every day.

    • Em

      Three girls? Wow! I am on the way. I do like the ladies. I also bet they knew what they were doing when they rescued you. We always know who is meant tor us. :)

  11. Em, you are SO squeezably cute! I loved the story about rescuing a human. That’s how I feel about my babies. They found me. I would love to keep seeing you here in the Tea Room. You bring smiles to our faces and I’m sure everyone is like me and adores you. I just love your closeup picture! I’m having to keep my aawwws and aaahhhhhs a little quiet because my Sweetpea is so incredibly jealous. Tell your mommy that I am glad she got her computer issues taken care of. Sending you OXOXOXOXOXO’s sweet Em. :)

    • Em

      I understand Sweetpea. I don’t like it when my mommy fusses over other dogs either. She’s MINE, after all. I’ll be back in here, for sure. It’s fun to be a star.
      And I always know when my mommy needs a break. I share her desk chair so I see everything.
      Thanks for the loving!! :)

  12. Em, you did a fab job, really! And you ae such a charmer. I bet you were Rudolph Valentino in a prior lifetime!! Belle likes handsome little guys but our new friend Little Rojo can charm too. He is pictured on my blog and will be again and I am getting ready to tell the story about Rico and Belle. Most of my dogs will be featured there at one time or another. If I was around you and mom more, I know you would soon have me wrapped around your paw. I am such a big softie for all K-9s!!

    • Em

      Now I’m all waggy. THANK YOU!!! I have enjoyed being King for the Day. I have heard about Rojo. He’s COOL!! Mommy said he’s a surfer. Wow!

  13. Ivy

    How precious…Very much enjoyed your post, Em. You’re handsome inside & out..

    • Em

      Aw, gee… thank you so much, Ivy. You’re making me all waggy. I was glad to help out my mommy. She’s been awfy busy with all kinds of trouble lately. And I’m always happy to let folks know there are plenty dogs ready and eager to rescue them. Cats, too, though I’m not too keen on mentioning them. ;)

  14. Pingback: Thank You! | Tartan Ink

  15. Karen C

    Thank you Em for a wonderful post. I cried at this story too. A friend of mine was recently diagnosed with breast cancer and had a mastectomy. She didn’t do well with the chemo treatment and has been feeling down. Last week she let us know that her longtime companion, Bentley, passed. I don’t remember the type of dog he was, but she loved him dearly. This has only added to her sadness. She’s not ready to be rescued yet, but hopefully, she will be soon.

    • Em

      Karen, I am so sorry to hear about your friend’s troubles. And that she lost her beloved Bentley. I’m with you in hoping she’ll soon let herself be rescued by one of my friends. We don’t like to admit it, but we need rescuing just as much. Let me know what happens.

  16. If anyone can answer this, please do. When I open the daily emails they display just fine for about 5 seconds, then they go blank. When I close the email and report it, it is still blank. Duhhhh what’s with that??
    I am not a tech person – any help will be appreciated. I have not changed any of the settings for this site.

    So nice to hear from Em and also that the computer problem is ok now. Helen in Ark.

    • I am not techie either, Helen, and can only guess as mine does that often too–occasionally it will load okay. I suspect it has something to do with the settings on images that your email has–I’m on yahoo (a pain in the patootie but…) and have an old, slow computer so images may be surpressed or not load. I got into the site and added it to my fave bar so I can just go up there and click the icon to get in and see a new post that does not load! You might check the cookie and images settings if you can or know someone who can do it for you. Just a wild-*ss guess!

    • Goodness, Helen, I don’t have the foggiest idea what the problem is. You know I am un-techy, too. ((:O I see deirdrewindancer offered a suggestion. I hope it helps. Also hope other techy-minded Tarts will reply. Good luck!

      No kidding re my pc. Such a fright and hassle!! I’m very relieved it could be saved.

  17. Kathy Luehrs

    Em, Thanks for the great blog – loved the story you shared with us – make sure you take care of your mommy.

Leave a Reply

